01 October 2013

The Six Paramitas: An Introduction

A few years back, I wrote brief introductions for each of the Six Paramitas, which are fundamental aspects to the spiritual path.  This is where beginners are often asked to begin in Mahayana Buddhism, even though one may have been exposed to teachings such as the Four Noble Truths in their religions-of-the-world survey course.  These Six offer a straightforward and accessible way to get going and keep going in practice.  I encourage you to familiarize yourself with them and cultivate them as best you can.  Follow the links below for details:

Introduction:  On Making a Commitment

Dana, or Generosity

Sila, or Ethics

Ksanti, or Patience

Virya, or Perseverance

Dhyana, or Meditation

Prajna, or Wisdom

No comments:

Post a Comment